June 28 – National Tapioca Day

National Tapioca Day

tapioca pudding

Food Facts on Tapioca

  • Tapioca is a starch that comes from the root of the cassava plant
  • Tapioca is gluten free, and contains almost no protein.
  • ¬†When used in cooking, tapioca starch or tapioca flour can serve as a thickener or gelling agent, as a stabilizer, or to create the body of a glazy jelly for sweet pie fillings.
  • Tapioca is also processed into other forms, such as flakes, small rectangular sticks, or round granules known as pearl tapioca.
  • Pearl tapioca is the form seen in tapioca pudding and other desserts featuring the familiar round, soft bubbles.